Home Wadokai England Wadokai History Members News photos Media Events Dairy 
Wadokai England Karate
Welcome to

sponsors of Wadokai England Karate

sponsors of Wadokai England Karate

Home Home

Contact us                                                       Latest news                                                           Events diary

News - software - consultancy

Wadokai History

Federation of European Wado-Kai

European Wado-Ryu Karate Championships

The first official European Wado-Ryu Karate Championships took place in London, England on the 27th February 1970. But it was not until 1972 that a European Wado-Ryu Organisation was formed - this was the start of the Federation of European Wado-Kai (F.E.W.). The second European Wado-Ryu Karate Championships were held in Holland on the 28th October 1972. In 1974 it was decided that the European Wado-Ryu Karate Championships would be held annually:

1974 -

Amsterdam, Holland (2nd February)

1975 -

Rome, Italy (12th April)

1976 -

London (Sobell) England (13th March)

1977 -

Hamburg, Germany (14th May)

1978 -

Amsterdam, Holland

1979 -

Dublin, Ireland (12th May)

1980 -

Stockholm, Sweden (20th September)

In 1980, Hironori Ohtsuka Sensei (1892-1982), the founder of Wado-Ryu Karate, considered retiring as head of Wado-Ryu Karate. He wanted his son to succeed as the Grand Master. However, a number of other high level Wado-Ryu Karate teachers did not favour the succession. They wanted a different leader to be appointed. Although lengthy negotiations took place, no agreement was reached. As a result, Hironori Ohtsuka Sensei left his own organisation, the Wado-Kai Karate Federation, and started a new organisation called the Wado-Ryu Karate Federation. The split was regrettable, as each karate club or association had to choose between the two organisations. Although the different Wado-Ryu Karate organisations made their choices in Europe, the Federation of European Wado-Kai remained united.

1981 -

Rome, Italy (24th October)

1982 -

London, (Crystal Palace) England (25th September)

1983 -

Amsterdam, Holland (29th October)

1984 -

Luton, England (24th November)

1985 -

Athens, Greece (2nd November)

1986 -

Farnborough, England (1st November)

1987 -

Hamburg, Germany (24th October)

1988 -

Chambray, France (22nd October)

1989 -

The first World Wado-Ryu Karate Championships London (Crystal Palace) England (26th and 27th August)

In 1989 the United Kingdom Karate Wado-kai fragmented in to 3 groups.

The WIKF led byTatsuo Suzuki 8th Dan Hanshi.

The Wado Ryu Karate- do remmei led by Masafumi Shiomitsu 8th Dan Hanshi.

Wado Aiwakai Karate-do Federation led by Sakagami 8th Dan Hanshi.

Mr K. Sakagami Sensei decided to join Wado-Kai Karate Federation in Japan.

1990 -

Gothenburg, Sweden (3rd November)

1991 -

Amsterdam, Holland (5th October)

1992 -

Rome, Italy (29th November)

From 1992 as a result of the 1989 reformation, the Federation of European Wado-Kai has suffered from political unrest - on occasion some countries have boycotted the Federation of European Wado-Kai, European Championships. This produced difficulties for the organising committees of the host nations and the reluctance of some countries to palace bids to host the event. Despite these problems, the championships have continued.

1993- Nuremburg, Germany (23rd October).

1994- 2nd Would Wado-Ryu Karate Championships, Tokyo, Japan.(28th August).

1995- Belgrade, Yugoslavia.

1996- St. Gallen, Switzerland (8th November).

1998- Guilford, England.(31st October).

1999- 3rd World Wado- Ryu Karate Championships Tokyo Japan.

2000- Berlin, Germany (28th October).

2001- Dublin Ireland ( 27th October).

2007- Sweden.

2008- Rumania.

2009- Dublin Ireland.

2010- World Championships, Tokyo, Nagoya, Japan.

2011- Lisbon, Portugal.

2012 Venice Italy

2013 Lisbon Portugal(England co-host)

2014 Reading England

                                                               Back to top